The Tehsil Chakwal is an administrative sub-division of District Chakwal. Tehsil Chakwal is divided in to 30 UCs, five of which forms the Capital of Chakwal District. In the British Era the Tehsil of Chakwal was a part of District Jhelum. The Chakwal Tehsil has contained 248 different villages.

The tribes, and clans that inhabit in Tehsil Chakwal are Jatt Khokhars, Jatt Bhuttas, Awans, Mair Minhas, Kahuts, Janjuas, Mughal Kassars, Gujjars, Syeds, Gondals,  Arains, Sheikhs, Awans.